Big Money Bios

25Jan10

There are a few things I dislike about being a dancer/performer, but ya know, it’s usually not that big of a deal. I can get over it and enjoy the perks of being a dancer. However, bios and headshot….Hate them. I get so stressed out for no reason. At all. It’s not that big of a deal right? Write down a few reasons why are you awesome, take a picture of your face. Not hard. I really just have to laugh at myself sometimes. I just don’t know how to sum up everything I’ve been doing with myself my entire life and make it sound good. I mean, I’ve been dancing my whole life. I’m good at teaching kids. Can’t that be enough? No. You have to really sell yourself in like 6 sentences. That’s also why I’m bad at resumes. I can’t seem to get it together and say I’m awesome because of this, this, and this. And then the headshots… oh geeesh. Dancers and their headshots. You have to have this sultry, confident look that I can’t seem to get on my face. All I can do is smile, the same smile I do when I’m at a party, or at the movies, or talking to someone. I have no “looks”. And I can’t even do the no teeth smile, then I just look weird.

That’s why I love think/dance. We don’t have to worry about stupid, sultry, you want me headshots, nor “I’m too good for you” bios. We say things like “I like cat t-shirts” or “I was once a mine”. Then you can come see us and decide for yourself if we are any good. Because really, we could tell you for 8 pages all the stuff we’ve done and how good at it we are, but still not interest you one bit. And how will you really know if I’m good with kids until you see me in action?

girl smiling upside down

Sultry Headshot

Kimberly Schomburg has been dancing for a freaking long time. She’s also really good with kids. It must be true, because she said it. She can gaurantee you that she loves her cat, has a purse from Brooklyn Industries that was given as a gift from a friend, just ate some Swedish Fish candies, and has been listening to “Jersey Boys” non stop lately. Also, she is only 80 lbs.



2 Responses to “Big Money Bios”

  1. 1 LizJS

    Amen, sister. Amen. I, too, hate writing bios, resumes and my headshot is usually a picture of me eating something disgusting (most recently, a turkey sandwich with gravy – beautiful). I loathe the fakery of making a big deal of every little thing I do with my life – of making it sound cooler than it is. Liz Joynt Sandberg eats 3 square meals a day (plus snacks), doesn’t brush her teeth before bed, and nurses her daughter while drinking coffee and watching LOST on netflix instant watch. She loves reading magazines, hearing beer bottles clink against each other (cheers or recycling bin), and aspires to someday feel like she knows what she’s doing with her life. Until that time comes, she can be found wandering around exploring events and tiny mysteries that present themselves to her each day.

    Somehow I don’t think I’m hired……

  2. 2 kim4td

    haha hey if you applied for anything I was putting out there. I would hire you, instantly.


Leave a comment